• Welcome to the Chevereto user community!

Here users from all over the world gather around to learn the latest about Chevereto and contribute with ideas to improve the software.

Please keep in mind:

• 😌 This community is user driven. Be polite with other users.
    • 👉 Is required to purchase a Chevereto license to participate in this community (doesn't apply to Pre-sales).
    • 💸 Purchase a Pro Subscription to get access to active software support and faster ticket response times.

Parse error

Status
Not open for further replies.

matthewcares

Chevereto Member
I bought Chevereto I am very new to this and I really need some help here I have a hosting site my php setup is 5.5 I have uploaded the zip file to my server unpack it into folder I called the install and I just get this error

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '[', expecting ')' in /home/content/18/12076118/html/show/chevereto/app/loader.php on line 113

what am I doing wrong and how to get my photo site up thank you

That appears when you are running PHP < 5.4. Double-check your server settings.

my PhP server is 5.5 and when I uploaded my zip file and extracted in my folder it has for example show/chevereto/chevereto so show folder is where I extracted it chevereto folder has another folder called chevereto is this normal for extracting?

Impossible that the server is running PHP 5.4+ if you get that parse error. And MySQL version is not the same as PHP version.

The requirements are shown in several pages, for example: https://chevereto.com/features (bottom). A host that doesn't support PHP 5.4 in 2014 (well, 2015) is not something ok. Today PHP 5.4 is an standard and every host should support it.

if I update my PHP to 5.4 will this cause problems for my other DB in my MySQL?