How do you convert your site to SSL?

dwhs

Founder license
License owner
Joined
Jan 3, 2012
Messages
22
Likes
2
Points
53
Location
LA
Website
webhost.pro
#1

McAtze

Network license
Beta tester
Joined
Aug 21, 2015
Messages
54
Likes
13
Points
58
Website
pixxx.cloud
#2
I can't reproduce this issue. All pages i visited are with SSL.

Maybe a cache thing, or you had to change your .htaccess
 

Rodolfo

Chevereto Guru-Guru
Staff member
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
16,134
Likes
4,177
Points
237
Location
Chevereto HQ
Website
rodolfoberrios.com
#3
Https is automatically detected. If your server setup is wrong the thing won't use https on its own.

For the latter, you will have to force https as is described here: https://chevereto.com/docs/server-issues
 

JakeSully

Network license
Beta tester
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
238
Likes
31
Points
78
#4
if you are using cpanel then it won't redirect to HTTPS automaticly, it's just how cpanel is. Chevereto has never detected HTTPS with cpanel. So i have to use code from server issues page to make script use https. Otherwise it won't, but if you use plesk you can setup so server shall redirect visitors directly to https automaticly.

Otherwise you can setup permantent redirect method in cpanel from http:// to https://
 

Rodolfo

Chevereto Guru-Guru
Staff member
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
16,134
Likes
4,177
Points
237
Location
Chevereto HQ
Website
rodolfoberrios.com
#5
Chevereto has never detected HTTPS with cpanel
Wrong assumption. It does detect HTTPS when is configured the way it should be. Not my business if you get phony https because some cpanel hosters don't do the job properly.
 

dwhs

Founder license
License owner
Joined
Jan 3, 2012
Messages
22
Likes
2
Points
53
Location
LA
Website
webhost.pro
#6
Oh there it is, I just added:

$settings['https'] = TRUE; // TRUE to force PHP HTTPS

To the app/settings.php file

Thanks!
 

JakeSully

Network license
Beta tester
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
238
Likes
31
Points
78
#7
Wrong assumption. It does detect HTTPS when is configured the way it should be. Not my business if you get phony https because some cpanel hosters don't do the job properly.
That's what I'm saying. It's something how cPanel has set as default, that is making Chevereto script not using https automatically.
 

Rodolfo

Chevereto Guru-Guru
Staff member
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
16,134
Likes
4,177
Points
237
Location
Chevereto HQ
Website
rodolfoberrios.com
#8
That's what I'm saying. It's something how cPanel has set as default, that is making Chevereto script not using https automatically.
CPanel varies from one provider to another. Is not a "cpanel" thing, is a service provider "thing". Long as https is properly set and enabled, Chevereto will use https automatically.
 

JakeSully

Network license
Beta tester
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
238
Likes
31
Points
78
#9
CPanel varies from one provider to another. Is not a "cpanel" thing, is a service provider "thing". Long as http is properly set and enabled, Chevereto will use https automatically.
actually it is a cpanel thing, since i have used default settings like over 10 times and chevereto has never used https automaticly, it keeps staying in http. So some configuration seems to be needed. But it does work on other scripts that has auto detect then they use https. Only chevereto won't with default settings of cpanel installation.